7-10-2012

Tuesday started off rough, and got worse from there. Ran out of coffee (and money, that’s another story) and couldn’t have my normal cuppa before hitting the gym in the morning. I work out in the AM, from 6:30(ish) – 7:45(ish). I try and get up about 5:45 (which usually turns into 5:55) so I can eat something before hitting the gym. My normal morning pre-workout meal is 1 microwaved scrambled egg, cup of OJ and travel mug of coffee I drink on the way to the gym. Today, same meal, less the coffee and it took a toll. I had less energy and motivation and my concentration was lacking. Usually when I am working my routine I try to keep my rest time to about 60 seconds between sets, today was difficult. I would notice that sometimes 90 or more seconds had passed in between sets. Won’t be doing that again, coffee definitely works for me!

Today’s routine: Back

  • Warmup: Rowing – 2 minutes moderate pace
  • One arm rows, 4 sets, 12, 10, 8, 6 reps; 70 – 80 weight
  • Pull ups – 5×5
  • Lat pull downs, 4 sets, 12, 10, 8, 6 reps; 135 – 180 weight
  • Cable rows, 4 sets, 12, 10, 8, 6 reps; 105 – 150 weight
  • 20 crunches w/10 lbs plate behind head; 20 crunches with crossed legs w/10 lbs plate
  • Cable rotations – 2 sets per side 20 reps; 17 – 20 lbs

Diet was pretty good today. After my workout I had to get coffee, put sugar in since the 7-11 coffee (they were out of the energy blend – boo) needs it. Oatmeal for post workout meal (probably not the best choice, but it give me carbs/protein combo that I need). Good lunch, grilled chicken, steamed veggies. As an aside, the Green Giant Steamer series of veggies are just wonderful. About 100 calories per box, steam that, throw some chicken and you’ve got a great lunch.

Dinner was interesting, because I got paid today, we haven’t had a chance to go grocery shopping (the wife did a small target run between picking up kids from camps). Quick scan of the fridge told me it was a Chopped dinner. Basically my basket contained eggs, two leftover uncooked turkey burgers from this weekend and the last few stalks of asparagus. Hmmm, what to make. So I grilled the turkey burgers on the stove in a skillet with a little oil. With the eggs, took two of them and was going to fry them in the same skillet, but didn’t want to crack them and have them run all over. Thought for a minute and grabbed a nice rounded bowl, little cooking spray in the bottom, cracked the egg into the bowl and nuked it for about 25 seconds to just set up the whites. Then I slid it into the skillet and finished cooking it sunny side up. Toasted two pieces of crusty multigrain bread, rubbed them with a garlic clove, drizzled it with EVOO then salt/peppered it. Topped then with the turkey burger, then the fried egg. In the same skillet, seared the asparagus spears and deglazed the pan with some white wine and let the asparagus steam in it for a minute. Pulled those and threw in a pat of Kerrygold butter and made a quick sauce that I threw over the egg/turkey burger open faced sandwich. That and a side of asparagus was my dinner. Didn’t get an pics since I didn’t think it would come out good.

About DavieO

A 45-yr old (in 2015) guy that is living down south, problem is I'm from New England. Got a wife, three kids (one with autism, the other two are twins (but neither are in curls)), and a dog. We are living the good life, just barely. I'm hoping to use this as a creative outlet, being able to write about things I see, hear, view and like and things going on in my life at that point. Could be about fitness, eating, baseball, football, kids, home, life, cooking (my other creative outlet), and anything else I find amusing, interesting, or just have a few (or many) comments on.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Diet, Exercises. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

