7-9-2012

Weight – 201.4; Body Fat: 20.4%

Routine change time. Over the past 6 weeks I’ve been working lower reps and higher weights while working sets really slow, about 4-5 seconds through the range of motion. I’ve built a ton of strength this way, hitting 2 rep max PR on my bench of 265 and military presses of 115 for 4 reps. Now I’m going old school for the next 3 weeks, trying to see if the strength work will carry over to a single body part per day heavy weight moderate rep workout. My goal is to drop some more fat and add some muscle. I’m hoping the weight drops to 195, but more interested in the body fat dropping by 15% (say 16-17% range).

Going to work Monday – Chest, Tues – Back, Wed – off (or cardio), Thurs – Shoulders, Fri – Arms. You know the normal muscle head workout routine. The plan will be to hit heaver weight in the 6-12 rep range for 4 sets while increasing weight each set. Most of the ranges in the weight I added between 10-15 lbs per side of the bar, or for dumbbell, increased 5 lbs.

Today’s workout:

  • Warmup – Pushup Matrix (normal, wide, offset) – 8 reps per
  • Barbell Bench – 4 sets, 12, 10, 8, 6 reps; 165 – 225 weight
  • Incline Barbell – 4 sets, 12, 10, 8 , 6 reps; 135 – 185 weight
  • Hammer Decline Iso – 4 sets, 12, 10, 8, 6 reps; 70 – 100 weight (per side)
  • Dumbbell pullover – 3 sets, 12, 10, 8 reps; 60 – 70 weight
  • Cable Crossover – 3 sets, 12, 10, 8 reps; 30 – 40 per cable
  • 16 minutes of 60-60 HIIT

My diet has improved drastically over last several weeks. I’ve increased protein and decreased carbs over the last few weeks. I’m eating a modified paleo diet, don’t think I can ever go 100%. I’ve gotten better about not eating past 7PM and have cut out extra sugar (i.e. no sugar in my coffee). I have been about 170-200g of protein which will help over the next few weeks. I’m hoping to get some creatine supplement to take over the next 5 weeks, see if that helps. 5 weeks and counting until heading to see family, let’s hope I can reach my goals.

About DavieO

A 45-yr old (in 2015) guy that is living down south, problem is I'm from New England. Got a wife, three kids (one with autism, the other two are twins (but neither are in curls)), and a dog. We are living the good life, just barely. I'm hoping to use this as a creative outlet, being able to write about things I see, hear, view and like and things going on in my life at that point. Could be about fitness, eating, baseball, football, kids, home, life, cooking (my other creative outlet), and anything else I find amusing, interesting, or just have a few (or many) comments on.
This entry was posted in Diet, Exercises, Workout. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

