A New Year Again

So a year ago I started this blog with the intent to write a couple of posts a week about this and that and everything in between…a stream of consciousness…well that stream turned into a trickle then dried up altogether after a few weeks. So what happened? Looking back I really wasn’t dedicated to it, or much of anything in 2012. I basically gave up on my job (though I still have it, just really don’t care other than getting the paycheck) and spent most of my days just goofing off on the web looking at news items. I was hoping that by writing a few paragraphs each morning would jump start my creativity and inspire me to get work done, but the work sucks enough that I’m bored and don’t care the moment I sit down at my desk. So a new year, an odd year calendar wise. Maybe this will be my year. Looking back I’ve always done better in odd years for some reason. I was married in an odd year, my first kid was born in an odd year (the twins were born in an even year, but were conceived in an odd year so we’ll go with that).

What was good:

Family – spend a great week up north visiting family and it was the best time we had on vacation in a long time, the highlight of the year. Home life has been good this year too. The wife and I spend time together and the kids haven’t been that bad. I plan on writing more about that this year (if I can stick to this…doubtful…). No real incidents, good or bad.

What was bad:

Finance – while I’ve been working and making pretty good money, our finances got too far out of hand in 2012. We are currently in credit counseling (not one of those sleazy debt consolidation schemes, but credit counseling that is run through social services type of place), hopefully that will lead us out of debt. Budgeting hasn’t been going well, we still are short pretty much every month and I’ve been doing creative cash flow to make sure stuff gets paid. I’ll skip a monthly payment to a utility to be able to buy food or pay something else. Then I’ll make up for it the previous month by not paying another utility the following month.

My wife’s craft boutique did well as craft shows, but that’s the only place she sells anything. We tried to get a website going now for two years, I’m not convinced it will ever happen. The type of items are hands on and you have to see them to want to buy them. On a website it tough to see the colors and to see the quality of the items she makes. I’m thinking one more attempt this year to see if we can get it to pay off.

Here’s to a great 2013, hopefully I can keep this up (again, doubtful) and post at least a few times a week.

About DavieO

A 45-yr old (in 2015) guy that is living down south, problem is I'm from New England. Got a wife, three kids (one with autism, the other two are twins (but neither are in curls)), and a dog. We are living the good life, just barely. I'm hoping to use this as a creative outlet, being able to write about things I see, hear, view and like and things going on in my life at that point. Could be about fitness, eating, baseball, football, kids, home, life, cooking (my other creative outlet), and anything else I find amusing, interesting, or just have a few (or many) comments on.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

