New Posting Personal Record!!

Wow, two posts in one day, I’ve already doubled my posting output from 2013!!

So I changed gyms in 2013, I had been working out at the local YMCA that was right up the road from my office. Made life easy since it was only a 5 minute drive from the time I got out of the gym to work, meant I could sleep in a bit longer in the morning. In April, I moved over to Crunch and I have been extremely happy with that decision (one of the few I’ve made in recent years that hasn’t sucked ass). For starters, it is much cheaper; I was paying over $70 per month at the Y, at Crunch I’m paying under $10. Of course I don’t have the pool, the basketball court, the childcare, the classes, etc that I had at the Y…oh yeah, I would have had to use those for it to be a benefit.

The Y was starting to get very busy. At times I would have had to change my whole planned routine just to get on machines. In the past 8 months at Crunch I have yet to change anything I’ve planned for that day. They also have better equipment, a great multi use rack for doing TRX, pull-ups and other body weight workouts. In fact, there have been days where I’m the only one in the weightlifting section so I can do supersets without worrying about anyone jumping on something I’m using.

The past 8 months have been the best in terms of working out and improving fitness. I’ve incorporated cross-fit like exercise and routines and those have really paid off. My lifts have improved, I have better form and have hit personal records on many lifts.

I’ll be 44 in June, my goal is to get under 195 and under 12% body fat. I’m about 208 now and hover around 20% body fat. Being 6′ 1″ I don’t look heavy, or muscular for that matter. Think it is due to my diet, though I say that and have these on my desk:

Not wanting to waste leftover candy from Christmas, and it’s in moderation, could be a whole bag right??

I’m going back to basics for the start of this year. Last year I did a 6 month routine that I just wasn’t dedicated to, think that was because it was someone else’s routine, from a newsletter that I subscribe to. The workouts were good, geared to drop fat and get a lean muscular look. I’m taking those concepts and incorporating them into a new routine, while adding aspects of cross-fit.

Basic routine will be over 6 months. 2 months per phase. 1st phase I’ll be doing splits of Chest/Shoulder, Back/Abs/Core, Legs, Arms and then cardio. Each day I’ll add some Interval Cardio at the end if I have time (goal is to leave gym by 7:30, that means finishing routine at 7:20). I’m pyramiding the weight and reps. For example, when I do bench press, I’ll do a set of 12-10-8-6 reps while increasing weight. Then I drop the weight to where I started and do 12-15 reps. This should give me some bulk/size. Phase 2 is a 5×5 workout (5 sets of 5 reps) to add strength. Then phase 3 will be doing 5-6 sets of 2-4 reps to build some muscle density.

The plan will be to do two weeks of this, then do a week of different Crossfit-like routines, then cycle back to this for two weeks. Each phase will be 2 months.

Today I did the Chest/Shoulder work, pyramiding except where noted:

  • Bench press
  • Dumbell Incline
  • Decline ISO Hammer – 4 sets of 10
  • Standing Military Press
  • Strict Lateral raises (arms at side not bent) – 3 sets of 12
  • Smith-Machine shrugs – 3 sets of 8 rep-hold method with 4 count at top and bottom of rep

No cardio today, forgot to turn my alarm last night, I was fortunate to only wake up 15 minutes late so when I finished my workout it was already 7:30.

About DavieO

A 45-yr old (in 2015) guy that is living down south, problem is I'm from New England. Got a wife, three kids (one with autism, the other two are twins (but neither are in curls)), and a dog. We are living the good life, just barely. I'm hoping to use this as a creative outlet, being able to write about things I see, hear, view and like and things going on in my life at that point. Could be about fitness, eating, baseball, football, kids, home, life, cooking (my other creative outlet), and anything else I find amusing, interesting, or just have a few (or many) comments on.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

