Not a Lazy Weekend

Ahh, the weekend, time to spend with family, with friends, and with home projects…that is if you can get started at a decent hour during the day, like say before 1PM.

Over the past several years my weekends, when I don’t have to go anywhere that involves leaving the house, have been basically like this; Wake up, throw some sweats and a T-shirt on, plod downstairs, coffee up, and sit at my laptop. The kids are up and doing their things (these days involves watching YouTube videos about whatever they are interested in at the moment) and the Mrs is still sleeping (she developed a habit loooong ago of sleeping in on Sat and Sun morning). I would sit at the computer, have coffee, some breakfast, feed the dog and the kids (though not necessarily in that order) and think about all the things I had to do. Then my wife would get up and I’d get to reading an article or two and soon the kids would be asking “what’s for lunch”. I’d look at the clock on the computer (hint for procrastinating, always, always hide the task bar so that clock in the bottom right corner isn’t staring at you and mocking you) and it is after noon.

I decided that this year would be different, so here we are in the first Saturday of the new year, don’t have anywhere to go, and here has been my schedule:

  • Up at 7:00am – was going to run, checked the temp on the phone and it was 15 degrees, uhh no, don’t thinks so…
  • Dressed and ready – I wear glasses, actually contacts about 90% of the time, but the weekend I would usually grab my glasses and put those on, I think that what was making me lazy. During the week I get up at 5:30, in the bathroom, contact in, shave, teeth brushed, gym gear on, downstairs making coffee all in 10 minutes of the alarm going off. On the weekend I don’t do that, it is normally like I described above.
  • Coffee’d up and fed (kids, myself and the dog in that order), and ready to start today’s project.

Today’s main project is to get the remaining Christmas stuff (inside stuff, outside stuff was done on the 1st) packed up and put in the attic. Let me just check the time (hovers mouse over task bar area), oh it’s only 10:40…just a few more website then I’ll get started….

About DavieO

A 45-yr old (in 2015) guy that is living down south, problem is I'm from New England. Got a wife, three kids (one with autism, the other two are twins (but neither are in curls)), and a dog. We are living the good life, just barely. I'm hoping to use this as a creative outlet, being able to write about things I see, hear, view and like and things going on in my life at that point. Could be about fitness, eating, baseball, football, kids, home, life, cooking (my other creative outlet), and anything else I find amusing, interesting, or just have a few (or many) comments on.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

