Aaaand we’re back…

That last cut was the Sounds of Silence by Simon and Garfunkel as we continue to spin all the classics….or maybe it was just me being lazy and not finding the time to write. But I’m back and better than ever baby!! Lots of reasons why I haven’t been around lately, but those will come out in due time. So what to do on my return, what to do, what to do…I know how about my first foray into attempting to food blog.

As you may or may not know, I’m a foodie. I love cooking and trying out new recipes. One of my favorite sites lately is Serious Eats, which is a great food blog that studies the science of cooking. They are like America’s Test Kitchen, but a bit more hip. I have a recipe box on Serious Eats where I save recipes that would like to try at some point. I’ve has this one in there for a while, figured it would make a good Sunday morning brunch while I’m up with the kids. One of the other things I do is subscribe to America’s Test Kitchen newsletter. One of the problems with that site it requires a paid subscription and the recipes in the newsletter are only available for a short time. So when that hits my inbox I cut and paste recipes into a Word document to save for later, works out well.

Now, on to the cookery!!

Here is their photograph of the finished dish from Serious Eats site:

And here is mine:

As you can see I’m not a professional food photographer and I forgot to put some ground pepper on it before shooting this. Oh and I’m using an iPhone 4 to take the pictures. I have a nice Canon SLR that I may use if I continue doing these.

PREP: Here are the ingredients, mise en place (NOTE: I halved the recipe from Serious Eats since it was just me eating this):

PROCESS: ½ Cup chopped onion, finely chopped clove of garlic, teaspoon Worcestershire, tablespoon light brown sugar, ¼ cup ketchup and ¼ cup water and a can of Cannellini beans drained and rinsed. My knife skills suck, they start off good, but as you’ll see in the next shot, there were some pretty big chunks of onion, though my garlic was chopped pretty fine. I have a sharp knife (Santoku style) and know the process to chop onions, I just screw it up some of the time.

Melted the butter and sautéed the onions and garlic until they were soft, even in this blurry small picture you can see the big chunks of onions.

Then added the other items and simmered until it was thickend.

Which took about 3-4 minutes on low.

While that was reducing I toasted a piece of hearty wheat bread and fried two eggs in olive oil just until the whites set and the yolk is runny. Those didn’t come out as well as I’d like because my pan sucks. I have a cheap ceramic coated pan that is my best nonstick. I’ve used the hell out of it and it is no longer non stick. Plus it is thin aluminum so it doesn’t hold heat very well. I like the ceramic non-stick, but I may just switch to stainless steel.

Plating was just putting down the toast (no butter needed) top with the beans and then the fried egg.

TASTE: Not bad, the beans were a bit tough, but that could have been the brand (cheap WalMart brand), but I don’t mind them al dente. When I broke the egg yolk and mixed it into the beans it tasted great. The creaminess of the egg yolk with the beans and the crunch of the toast really worked well together. Could have used a bit more seasoning, but the beans had a mild baked bean flavor due to the brown sugar and Worcestershire. Overall I’d give it a sold B. Not a bad breakfast on a Sunday morning.

About DavieO

A 45-yr old (in 2015) guy that is living down south, problem is I'm from New England. Got a wife, three kids (one with autism, the other two are twins (but neither are in curls)), and a dog. We are living the good life, just barely. I'm hoping to use this as a creative outlet, being able to write about things I see, hear, view and like and things going on in my life at that point. Could be about fitness, eating, baseball, football, kids, home, life, cooking (my other creative outlet), and anything else I find amusing, interesting, or just have a few (or many) comments on.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Aaaand we’re back…

Leave a Reply

