Day 0 – A Chain of Habits

They say it can take up to 7 weeks of consistent daily effort to develop a new habit, that’s 49 days. When this year started I made another attempt at blogging every day. I failed miserably. My failure is similar to how the Red Sox (the topic of my last post) have failed in their defense of the World Series Trophy.

So here we are again, trying to develop habits that will improve my life. However, like a teenager in a bad 80s movie, this time is going to be different. I have a plan that I’m going to try over the next 7 weeks that combines several things, getting healthy, getting stronger, losing weight and writing, things that I have been trying to accomplish over the past few years.

I have attempted to start doing all of those things consistently over the past several years to no avail. I’ve been much better about getting into the gym most days, but not every day. I’ve been eating better, but still not where I’d like (not eating at night is still a struggle). My weight can’t get below 200.

So, starting today I’m going to try and combine all three things using the “Don’t Break the Chain” method. Don’t Break the Chain was described by Jerry Seinfeld on Lifehacker. He talked about when he was a young comic and wanted to get better writing jokes. To do that, he got one of those large desk calendars and every day he sat down and wrote jokes for his act he would put an X on the calendar for that day. After a while he has Xs on each day and got to the point where he didn’t want to “Break the Chain” of Xs so he would make time to write.

My goal will be to write something here every day for the next 7 weeks, 49 days total. The something I will write will be related to getting more healthy, stronger and lose weight. I figure this will give me something to write about while also improving my habits in those areas as well. I hope to post about other things of interest as well during the day, but at a minimum I will keep the chain going by writing about:

  1. My work out routine for that day
  2. What I ate the day before (calories, whether I at anything at night, maybe even post the results of My Fitness Pal app)
  3. My weight that day

I’m going to write a post later today talking about my current routine and diet to give some context. I’m also going to post some pictures weekly, to hopefully show progress.

This post is Day 0 of 49.

About DavieO

A 45-yr old (in 2015) guy that is living down south, problem is I'm from New England. Got a wife, three kids (one with autism, the other two are twins (but neither are in curls)), and a dog. We are living the good life, just barely. I'm hoping to use this as a creative outlet, being able to write about things I see, hear, view and like and things going on in my life at that point. Could be about fitness, eating, baseball, football, kids, home, life, cooking (my other creative outlet), and anything else I find amusing, interesting, or just have a few (or many) comments on.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

