Best Laid Plans…

So the other day I wrote a post about not breaking the chain and how if you do an activity for 49 straight days you have a better chance of making it a habit. I made the post of Friday which I called Day 0 with the intent of writing on Saturday, going to the gym and eating healthy. I failed on two of the three and didn’t even do Day 1 of 49.

Friday night I didn’t eat anything (that’s a big problem of mine, usually around 9-9:30 at night I’m in the kitchen looking for food) and got to sleep early. Saturday morning the alarm went off at 6:30 and I rolled out of bed, got my gear on, made a cup of coffee and jumped into the car for the 15 minute ride to the gym. I felt kind of off, but I attributed it to not being use to being up that early on a Saturday and not eating the night before. I couldn’t finish the coffee like I usually do during the week before hitting the gym. So I arrive at the gym and didn’t feel that great, but I pressed on. I decided to warm up by hitting the treadmill for 10 minutes of a light jog. Saturday is my bench press and bent-over barbell row day. I finished the treadmill and felt really weak all of a sudden, but I pressed on. I was able to get the bench press in, but that was it. When I did the last set of 150 lbs I struggled to get 15 reps out, on Thursday I did 18 and could have done 20 easy.

A few weeks ago, a stomach bug ran through my family. My wife’s brother and his family visited from out of town, the week leading up to them coming down he had been pretty sick, stomach problems, aches, fever, flu like symptoms. The first in my family to get it was my daughter, then it passed to her brother and then my wife and two sons. I thought I would be spared. I usually have a pretty strong immune system. About 4 years ago I had my appendix out and over that time I haven’t been sick. While I didn’t get as sick as the others, no stomach issues and no fever, but I had aches and pains in all of my joints and felt very weak. I couldn’t eat anything yesterday. I slept most of the afternoon (which I NEVER do). This morning when I got up I felt much better, not 100%, maybe 80%.

So before I even started the chain, I broke it…that’s how my life usually goes. So I have two days of not eating at night, somewhat of a day of working out, and no days of eating healthy (unless you consider no eating healthy) and no writing. Once again I will start this as Day 0, hope tomorrow can be Day 1.

Day 0 (again) of 49

About DavieO

A 45-yr old (in 2015) guy that is living down south, problem is I'm from New England. Got a wife, three kids (one with autism, the other two are twins (but neither are in curls)), and a dog. We are living the good life, just barely. I'm hoping to use this as a creative outlet, being able to write about things I see, hear, view and like and things going on in my life at that point. Could be about fitness, eating, baseball, football, kids, home, life, cooking (my other creative outlet), and anything else I find amusing, interesting, or just have a few (or many) comments on.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

