One Day at a Time

Finally starting to feel better, I’m at about about 99% today, still a bit of lingering fatigue from being sick last Saturday, but I felt just about normal this morning in the gym and my appetite is back to normal. I was actually able to up my load on both exercises today, here’s what I did:

Bench: 210×5, 235×1, 245×1, 165×15
Barbell bent-over row: 155×5, 175×1, 185×1, 120×15

I’ve been carb cycling over the last few week, I eat low-carb on 4 days and moderate/normal carbs on 3 days during the week. I don’t believe in “cheat” days since I eat things I like that are also healthy so I don’t really need to “cheat” and eat like a whole pizza or a bunch of ice cream on a Sunday afternoon.

For example, today is a normal carb day and I had breakfast three scrambled egg burritos with a black bean and corn salsa in them, easy peasy. For lunch I’ll have a piece of fish that I microwave at work in a parchment paper pouch along with some cucumber/tomato/bean salsa I tried to recreate from the Community Pool open house cookout. I have an apple and some almonds for a snack this afternoon and tonight I have some leftover rotisserie chicken that I will have with some sautéed veggies and maybe some quinoa.

On my low carb days I cut the fajita wrap and just eat the eggs with some veggies (red bell peppers or some spinach), chicken or fish for lunch with some broccoli, a handful of mixed nuts for a snack and some meat (chicken, steak) with some steam veggies.

I’ll rotate in meals options from a list that I have built (I’ll post when I get a chance as it’s mainly in my phone notes) and while I don’t really count calories, I try and keep them around 1700 on the low carb day and about 2000 on the high carb day.

I’m thinking of adding in some protein shake/drink to supplement, but maybe not until next month. I’m getting about 225-275 grams of protein on the low carb days and 175-225 on the other days. I may add a casein protein next month when I get some extra money (funds have been tight for a while, but that’s a post for another day). The only thing I’m doing now is 5g of creatine post workout, only because that it is cheap and works well for me. I found that cycling that on and off helped me in the past get some good gains. I hadn’t used it for a few years so I figured I’d try it and so far I think it is working. I’ll know in a few weeks when I cycle off of it if my weight drops or my gains diminish.

Over all a good day eating yesterday and a good gym session today.

Weight: 207.2

This is Day 3 of 49.

About DavieO

A 45-yr old (in 2015) guy that is living down south, problem is I'm from New England. Got a wife, three kids (one with autism, the other two are twins (but neither are in curls)), and a dog. We are living the good life, just barely. I'm hoping to use this as a creative outlet, being able to write about things I see, hear, view and like and things going on in my life at that point. Could be about fitness, eating, baseball, football, kids, home, life, cooking (my other creative outlet), and anything else I find amusing, interesting, or just have a few (or many) comments on.
This entry was posted in Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

