Sleepy Time

My routine got messed up today. as I mentioned yesterday I had to take two of my kids to my in-laws house for the day, had to have them over there at 7:30. Needless to say I wasn’t up early to train. My plan for today is to hit the gym at lunch. I’ve only been to the gym at lunch a few times so hopefully it won’t be busy. At 6:30 in the morning when I normally get there I know how many people are going to be there and pretty much what they are doing. It’s a good time to go at my gym; in the past year I can count on one hand how many times I’ve had to alter my routine. The gym opens at 5AM and it seems that when I get there the real early morning crowd is done and gone so it is much quieter.

I did get up at my normal time of 5:20 AM so I didn’t disrupt my sleep schedule. Over the past several months I’ve been using the Sleep Cycle app on my phone to monitor my sleep each night. I’ve built up a pretty good amount of data points and the software algorithms seem to be learning my sleep habits. My sleep quality has been improving some, according to the app. I feel like I get a good night sleep most nights. Most people have 90 minute sleep cycles where our sleep goes from light sleep to deep sleep and back over the course of 90 minutes. There have been nights where I’ve slept fewer hours but have felt refreshed since I woke up at the right point of the cycle, at the lightest phase of my sleep. There have also been days where I’ve gotten 8 hours and dragged all day since my alarm went off when I was in the deepest part of my sleep.

The Sleep Cycle app is pretty good, you give it a time you need to get up and, in addition to monitoring your sleep all night, will have the alarm go off up to 30 minutes before your wake up time when it senses you are in a light sleep phase.

This graph from the app shows the quality over the time I’ve used the app, 105 days of data so far. I’m averaging about 60% or so.

This is my best night so far, it was on a weekend and I went to bed early and didn’t have to get up early for anything on the next day.

This was my worse night, just a few weeks ago. Not sure why this one happened, but it was a Tuesday into Wednesday and, based on the chart in the app, that is my worse night of the week. On this one you can see that I didn’t have the 90 minute cycles of light sleep to deep sleep, they were more like 60 minutes.

This was yesterday’s sleep cycle, which is pretty much my average sleep. I was coming out of somewhat deep sleep from about 4:30 AM so the app’s alarm went off about 5:10 when I was in light sleep.

One of the things I need to start doing is getting to bed earlier, on most nights I don’t get to bed until 11, my wife and I need a bit of time to unwind after getting the kids to bed. I try not to do too much during that time, watch some TV (during the summer it is pretty much Red Sox games on the MLB.TV app on the Roku) or doing some reading/catching up with the news of the day. Maybe I’ll try a week or two of getting to bed by 10 PM and see what that does to my sleep numbers.

This is day 5 of 49.

About DavieO

A 45-yr old (in 2015) guy that is living down south, problem is I'm from New England. Got a wife, three kids (one with autism, the other two are twins (but neither are in curls)), and a dog. We are living the good life, just barely. I'm hoping to use this as a creative outlet, being able to write about things I see, hear, view and like and things going on in my life at that point. Could be about fitness, eating, baseball, football, kids, home, life, cooking (my other creative outlet), and anything else I find amusing, interesting, or just have a few (or many) comments on.
This entry was posted in Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

