Chains are Meant to be Broken

What is it with me and weekends? Last weekend, at the very start of my unbroken chain to build new habits, I got sick and didn’t even really start the chain as planned. I picked it up on Monday and was able to get back in the swing for all last week, building to one of my best workouts in months last Friday. Saturday morning I woke up early and decided that instead of wasting gas driving to the gym (30 miles round trip) I would run to my kids school and then do sprints on the soccer field with some body weight exercises thrown in. I was able to do that. I did 10 full field sprints with 30 second rest at each end then did a jumping jack, push up, squat combo. I did 1 of each on the first round, 2 of each on the second round, etc until I hit 10 each, then rested 2 minutes and came back down to 1 (10 of each, 9 of each, 8 of each, etc), then a light jog back home.

After showering, eating breakfast I sat down to read email and news. Open Chrome and am greeted with a Unable to Load Page error. Tried a few other sites and got the same. Rebooted the computer and reconnected to the wireless and it wouldn’t connect. Got up and rebooted the wireless router, still wouldn’t connect. Unplugged the wireless router and plug it back in, still nothing. Contemplated throwing the thing against the wall in frustration, decided against it. Time to troubleshoot I guess.

I hopped on another computer in the house and that one connected to the wireless. Now I’m thinking it is my laptop. Several reboots and reconnection attempts later I’m still not online. By this time I have other things to do so I figure I’ll leave it until after dinner when I can spend some time on it. After dinner the kids turned the TV on to watch a few episodes of Mythbusters on Netflix I get the “Dad, the Roku won’t connect and we don’t know what to do” yelling from the living room. More troubleshooting, this time I try to connect direct to a port on the wireless router and that connects so it looks like the wireless is not working. When I was going through the router configurations I noticed there is a firmware update available so I ran that. That loaded and my laptop saw that there was a connection available so I figured that the firmware update did the trick. No luck, it connected but wasn’t pushing any data through. So now I’m thinking it was the cable modem or the cable connection. I called the cable company, nope, everything looks good on their end. They did a reset on the modem and everything started working again if connected direct to the cable modem.

Yesterday, after another two hours in the morning of working on it I decide that wireless router is dead and I need a new one so down to Best Buy I go. They had a Linksys on sale that I picked up. At home I hooked it up and plug it in and…nothing. No lights on the front or the back of the router. I try a different outlet, still nothing. Great, after all of that I get a bad router. By this time I had a birthday party to take one of the kids to so the exchange would have to wait. On the way home I stopped at Best Buy to exchange it, only they didn’t have any of those in stock. After going around and around I was able to talk the manger to giving me the next model up for same sale price. So back home, but by then it was dinner so we ate, cleaned up and hung outside with some neighbors while the kids played out front. Finally, about 9PM last night I finally was able to get the router hooked up, this one worked out of the box and after about 30 minutes of configuring I was back online. By that time I was done for the night.

So not only did I miss one day of writing, but I missed two days. The chain was broken in a big way. This morning I got into work, one of the first things I usually do on Monday is read through some blogs. On one of the first one, I see this. After this weekend it was just what I needed. I beat myself up over missing two days of writing due to something that was out of my control. Going forward I’m modifying my chain. I’m going to still strive to write every day, but if I miss a day I’m not going to let it get to me.

This is Day whatever…

About DavieO

A 45-yr old (in 2015) guy that is living down south, problem is I'm from New England. Got a wife, three kids (one with autism, the other two are twins (but neither are in curls)), and a dog. We are living the good life, just barely. I'm hoping to use this as a creative outlet, being able to write about things I see, hear, view and like and things going on in my life at that point. Could be about fitness, eating, baseball, football, kids, home, life, cooking (my other creative outlet), and anything else I find amusing, interesting, or just have a few (or many) comments on.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

