Humping it Day

Another good day throwing around heavy metal plates. I’m in my last week of doing the 1 Rep Max workout, my plan is to start a 5 day split of upper and lower body on Monday. I’m hoping the work I’ve put in pays off in that workout. My plan is to do 3 days of upper with 2 days of lower one week and switch it to 2 days upper and 3 lower the following week, rotating for probably 8 weeks. I’ll be doing big compound lifts that work large muscle groups, I’m not really big on isolation, though I may throw some arm work in, but keep it to barbell curls and close grip bench press/dips that also work other muscle groups.

I was able to hit 355# on my deadlift using the trap bar. I felt like I could have gotten at least one more. I did 300×5, 335×1, 355×1, 225×15. I had to switch my military press because all of the racks were in use. I ended up using the Hammer Strength ISO lateral shoulder press machine. I loaded up 60 on each side and was able to do 10. I used that to determine my 1RM, which I tabbed at 100#. I did 80×5, 90×1, 95×1, 60×15 (those weights were per side of the machine). I followed that up with 6 sets of 110# hanging cleans that I took deep into a front squat. Did some core, weighted crunches using 20, 25, and 35 lbs plates with V-ups in between each weighted crunch set.

I watched the Red Sox last night, if only because that will probably be Jake Peavy’s last or 2nd to last start in a Red Sox uniform. I like Peavy, love his competitiveness and his drive. Yelling “COME ON, PEAVE!!!” to himself when a pitch or play doesn’t go his way hasn’t gotten old in my book. If you’ve been following the Red Sox this year you know Peavy was 1-9 coming into that game. He has the worse run support in the league, it’s under 3 runs per game. He has 11 games this season that are considered quality starts (6+ innings of work giving up 3 or fewer runs). He should have at least 5-7 wins. Not a great pitcher, but a solid #4 guy in the rotation.

Of course he has to pitch after that 14 run onslaught from Monday night. In all my time watching the Red Sox it is almost a given when they score double digit runs their offensive output will suffer in their next game. Knowing Peavy was pitching the next game I started pleading to my TV to hold up on the runs when they got to 8, begging them to save some for Tuesday. Of course my fears came to fruition last night, and it was a typical Jake Peavy start:

  • No Red Sox runs for several innings – Check. They scored their 1st run in the 7th off a David “Jamaica-Mon” Ortiz solo shot
  • A screwy play – Check. The Jay’s first run was on a play in front of the plate that he tried to field and couldn’t get his glove on allowing the runner at 3rd to score on a 30 foot ground ball.
  • The obligatory Peavy home run – Check. In 6th and Jose Reyes leads off with a home run. A check on the bullpen and no Sox reliever is up or even stretching. The Jays followed that up by a Cabrera ground rule double, then Peavy go Jose Bausista to fly out. The next batter, Navarro, hit a HR to deep right and just like that the score was 4-0. Peavy was able to get out of the inning without further damage.
  • Leaving him in just a bit too long – Check. He came out for the 7th (which I think was a mistake, but I think they were trying to showcase that he can pitch beyond the 6th) and he put a runner on and was pulled for Badenhop. Badenhop ended up giving up an RBI single.

From there it was pretty much done, Toronto scored two more runs, Drew hit a 2-run shot in the 9th, but it wasn’t enough.

Peavy will probably be traded before the end of the month, even if they manage to take the next two against Toronto and go into Tampa and take 2 of 3 from the Rays. De La Rosa and/or Workman can take his turns in the rotation. They may be able to include him in a package for a right-handed bat, preferably one that can play Left Field every day. Hopefully they can get back on their winning ways tonight. If they do they will have to it against R.A Dickey and his knuckleball. I hope that doesn’t screw up some of the hitter that have been heating up, especially the young ones like Holt, Bradley and Bogaerts.

About DavieO

A 45-yr old (in 2015) guy that is living down south, problem is I'm from New England. Got a wife, three kids (one with autism, the other two are twins (but neither are in curls)), and a dog. We are living the good life, just barely. I'm hoping to use this as a creative outlet, being able to write about things I see, hear, view and like and things going on in my life at that point. Could be about fitness, eating, baseball, football, kids, home, life, cooking (my other creative outlet), and anything else I find amusing, interesting, or just have a few (or many) comments on.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

