Forced Rest

Having a wife, kids and a mountain of debt means you have to be flexible and always ready to change your plans. A few weeks back my wife applied for a retail management position, while is isn’t great money, it is better than the $0.00/hour she is making right now. It is a full time position, but being that it is retail it isn’t the greatest hours. Last week she found out that they are not hiring any team leads and assistant managers yet. It is a new store opening in our area and they hire temporary people initially to help set up and stock the store, then when they get closer to the opening date they make determinations on who will stay on and who, of those that are interested, will be offered management/lead positions. She has a good shot at the position, which is good as it will give us a an extra $500-600 per week that we can use to fully catch up on our bills and, more importantly, get ahead.

Because the job started this week, and was sort of a last minute thing, my entire schedule has been thrown for a loop. Some days this week, I have to come into work by 6:30 so I can leave by 2:30 and get home before my wife is scheduled to work. Other days, like yesterday, I have to bring kids to in-laws to be watched and I don’t want to make two trips by going to the gym, back home, then back down to drop them off. As my schedule goes this week it doesn’t look like I will get to the gym.

For the past 15 months I’ve averaged 3.5 days at the gym per week (my gym e-mailed me a print out last month showing all the days I checked in with my keychain tag). Because of that I’ve gotten into the habit of being somewhere to workout. I have always had a very hard time getting up and doing something at the house. I’ve tried running, and was able to do that on occasion, but I’m a creature of routine if not habit. My body adjusted to the routine of 45-50 minutes from awake to the gym floor. I get pumped up as I drive the 15 minutes from the house to the gym. I know that I need to keep up with my routine or else I’ll start quickly losing the gains I’ve made in what I can lift, it happens quicker when you are mid 40s With my schedule now I’m getting up at the same time as I have been (5:45), but have to leave for work by 6:15-6:20 to get there to enable me to get my 8 hours since I have to leave before 3pm every day this week. I may have to just suck it up and get up earlier. I have a friend at work that gets up at 4:30 every day, works out and is here in the office by 6am and leaves at 2pm to go home and take care of his kids since his wife works 2nd shift. However, he’s in bed by 8-8:30pm every night. I can’t do that, I have too much to do with kids and family stuff to go to bed that early, heck I can’t even make it to bed by 11pm some nights. I think I may be able to get up by 5am, or at least try to, and see if I can get to the gym by 5:30 when they open. Or at least try and get some road work in at home, figure I can run from 5:30-6:15 and then home, shower and be at the office by 7am.

It is going to be a difficult four weeks, but I’m going to make the best of it. Once school starts in September I’ll be able to get back to my routine since I won’t need to leave work before 4pm. I think I’m going to get a couple of used kettle bells (can get them for .75/#, or less, at a local used sporting goods store) and some other gear and make a go at working out at home. Maybe before dinner I can get a couple of sets in, to at least keep up the gains I made. I know it is something I have to do.

About DavieO

A 45-yr old (in 2015) guy that is living down south, problem is I'm from New England. Got a wife, three kids (one with autism, the other two are twins (but neither are in curls)), and a dog. We are living the good life, just barely. I'm hoping to use this as a creative outlet, being able to write about things I see, hear, view and like and things going on in my life at that point. Could be about fitness, eating, baseball, football, kids, home, life, cooking (my other creative outlet), and anything else I find amusing, interesting, or just have a few (or many) comments on.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

