Day 1 – Finally

After Saturday’s fiasco I’ve pulled it together and have completed Day 1 of my 49 days to “greatness” on Sunday. Yesterday was a much better day, felt better and stronger than Saturday. I was able to get some exercise in yesterday and ate much better.

We went to a local community pool’s open house. We have friends that are members of the pool and have tried to get us to join over the last few years. We went by from 5-8 last night and it was great. They had free burgers, hot dogs, grilled chicken and some cookout type sides and salads. I had some chicken and this great salad that had tomatoes, cucumbers, avocadoes, corn, white and black bean. It was seasoned with cilantro and cumin and I think balsamic vinegar. Most of the families that were there for the open house were eating when we got there so we hit the pool. I was able to swim some laps, completed about 10 and then played around with my kids for about 45 minutes before we got out of the pool and ate. It was a great time. We may end up joining next year since the cost is reasonable, only $295 for the year.

This morning I got up at my normal time (5:30am) and was able to hit the gym and do my Monday routine, deadlift and military press. I felt stronger this morning so I decided to increase the weight on all the lifts. Here’s what did:

Deadlift: 275×5, 315×1, 325×1, 210×15
Military Press: 105×5, 125×1, 135×1, 90×15
15 minutes of intervals on the elliptical

I’m doing a cardio week as my post lifts work. I’m going to do 15 minutes of HIIT at the end of my routine each day. Figure I can pile onto the 3 lbs I lost from Saturday’s not eating day. I was at 207 this morning, maybe this week I can drop it down to 205 by Friday.

Here’s to a great week.

This is Monday, Day 2 of 49.

This entry was posted in Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment